Many of us drive cars every single day. Every time you drive your car in Paradise, you put yourself at risk of being injured in a car accident. Of course, you can reduce your chance of being involved in an accident by obeying the posted speed limit and other traffic laws, but you cannot eliminate the risk entirely.
If you are injured in a car accident caused by another party’s negligence, you can seek compensation for your damages through a personal injury claim. Negligence refers to any driver’s breach of his or her duty to protect others from harm. Examples of negligence that can cause car accidents include driving drunk, text messaging while driving, speeding, and running through red lights. In order to recover compensation through a personal injury claim, a victim must prove that another driver’s negligence caused his or her accident. Work with an experienced Paradise personal injury lawyer to develop and pursue your car accident claim.
Our team has represented clients injured in many different types of car accidents. These include:
Nevada is a “fault” state regarding car accident claims, which means that a car accident victim must file a claim with the negligent party’s auto insurance, rather than his or her own, to recover compensation for his or her damages following a car accident. Any party who suffers damages in a car accident can seek compensation as long as he or she is deemed to be 50 percent or less at fault for the accident. If a driver holds 51 percent or more of the responsibility for an accident, he or she may not receive compensation through a personal injury claim.
A claimant must provide evidence to demonstrate another party’s fault for causing his or her accident. This evidence can include photographs of the accident, the official police report for the accident, eyewitness testimonies, and his or her medical record showing the date of the injury and his or her doctor’s comments about it. If you were injured in a car accident, your lawyer can help you obtain and use evidence to demonstrate another party’s fault.
In Nevada, the statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim is two years from the date of the accident. Be sure to file your claim within this time frame because if two years pass, you lose the right to receive compensation through a personal injury claim.
After you file your claim, the auto insurance company will offer you a settlement offer. In nearly all cases, this offer is the lowest amount of money the company reasonably feels you will accept. It is not always enough money to actually cover your damages and in most cases, it can be negotiated to a more appropriate amount.
Do not accept your initial settlement offer. Instead, have your lawyer review it to determine if it can be negotiated higher. Then, have your lawyer negotiate with the insurance provider on your behalf. In many cases, insurance companies will only negotiate with lawyers, not directly with claimants.
A car accident can cause you to suffer substantial financial damages. If you are suffering physically and financially as the result of a car accident caused by another party’s negligence, consider working with a member of our team of experienced Paradise personal injury lawyers at Naqvi Injury Law to pursue your car accident claim. Contact our firm today to set up your initial legal consultation in our office. We can answer your questions and guide you toward the most effective course of action for your case.